Hello homeowners, it's Juliet Saldarriaga.
I'm here to remind you that it's time to apply for your Homestead Exemption. You may apply any time before March 1, depending on the county. If you have already filed your Homestead exemption, let this notice serve as a reminder to claim this valuable exemption. Failure to file on time for the Homestead exemption will disqualify you for this tax year's exemption benefits.
Find below 5 of the most frequently asked questions and the links to the county website where you can file your exemption electronically.
Contained On This Page:
What is the Homestead Exemption?
If you own your home, reside there permanently and are a Florida resident as of January 1, you may qualify for Homestead exemption. Homestead can reduce your taxable value on your home as much as $50,000, saving you approximately $750 annually. More importantly, your assessed value, which is used to calculate your property taxes, cannot increase more than 3% annually after you are granted the exemption. In order to receive this benefit, you must apply before March 2, 2020. Not applying by March 2 constitutes a waiver of the exemption for that year and you must apply for the next year instead.
Am I eligible to file?
You must meet the following requirements as of January 1st:
When do I file?
The deadline is March 1 each year. The deadline to file a timely application for 2020 is March 2, 2020. Under Florida law, failure to file for an exemption by March 2nd constitutes a waiver of the exemption privilege for 2020.
How do I file?
Normally property appraisal offices mail all new homeowners an exemption packet approximately 6-8 weeks after their deed is recorded in the county records. This packet includes instructions on how to apply online, by mail or in-person for homestead. You may also contact one of the customer service specialists at your respective county to have a packet mailed to you or you may download or complete the application from the website and mail to your respective county office.
What documents are required?
To apply for homestead exemption by mail or in person, you must submit a copy of the following documents:
All owners residing on the property and making an application for the exemption must provide a valid Florida Driver's License or Florida Identification Card, and at least one of the following:
Address: 9100 Conroy Windermere Rd Suite 200, Windermere FL 34786